Driver Safety Course


If you are interested in taking a Driving Safety Course to have your citation dismissed, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Cannot be speeding 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit
  • Have not taken DSC within the past 12 months to have a citation dismissed
  • Have not committed one of the following offenses:
      • Failure to give information at Accident Scene
      • Leaving the scene of accident
      • Passing a School bus
      • An offense in a in a construction zone, when workers were present.

If you meet the above criteria, you may request a driving safety course on or before your appearance date on your citation. (Any request after your appearance date must be approved by the Judge.) 


When you make your request, you must provide the court the following 4 items:

  1. Payment of court costs and administrative fee; $107
  2. A copy of your valid driver’s license or permit. 
  3. A copy of your proof of financial responsibility (or insurance)
  4. A written plea of either guilty or no contest. 

The case will be postponed for 90 days to allow you time to complete the course. You must attend a driving safety course that has been approved by the Texas Education Agency.


In order for the citation to be dismissed, on or before the 90 days, you must present to the court:

  1. A copy of your driving record from DPS
  2. A uniform certificate of course completion from the driving safety school


If the required documents are not filed in the Palmhurst Municipal Court within 90 days, you will be responsible for the payment of the remaining fine. Thereby having the offense reported to your driving record and a warrant will be issued for your arrest.


Official Website of City of Palmhurst, Texas. Copyright 2012 City of Palmhurst, Texas. All Rights Reserved.